About Abu Dhabi

Arabian Peninsula

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a country located in the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Arabian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south.

Abu Dhabi and Dubai within the United Arab Emirates

The capital and the largest city is Abu Dhabi, one of the two centres of commercial and cultural activities, together with Dubai.

Abu Dhabi and its neighbouring Emirates boast some of the world’s most iconic attractions, including the 7* Emirates Palace, the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, Burj Khalifa and Ferrari World Abu Dhabi, as well as a number of award winning golf courses, world-class malls and stunning beaches.

Established on 2 December 1971, the country is a federation of seven emirates:

  • Abu Dhabi
  • Ajman
  • Dubai
  • Fujairah
  • Ras al-Khaimah
  • Sharjah
  • Umm al-Quwain